FREE SHIPPING on All Boxes and Orders Over $25
{ "id":1463402725431, "title":"The Poet X","handle":"the-poet-x", "description":"\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eWritten by Elizabeth Acevedo\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003ePublisher: Harper Teen\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cmeta charset=\"utf-8\"\u003e\n\u003cdiv id=\"divAnnotation\"\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eNational Book Award and Golden Kite Honor Award Winner!\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eFans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing \u003cem\u003eNew York Times\u003c\/em\u003e-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eXiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBut Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eWith Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003eBecause in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of\u003cspan\u003e \u003c\/span\u003e\u003cem\u003eDread Nation\u003c\/em\u003e\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e“An incredibly potent debut.”\u003cspan\u003e \u003c\/span\u003e\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e—\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eJason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist\u003cspan\u003e \u003c\/span\u003e\u003cem\u003eGhost\u003c\/em\u003e\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.”\u003cspan\u003e \u003c\/span\u003e\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003e—\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003cstrong\u003eIbi Zoboi, author of\u003cspan\u003e \u003c\/span\u003e\u003cem\u003eAmerican Street\u003c\/em\u003e\u003c\/strong\u003e\u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cp\u003e \u003c\/p\u003e\n\u003cmeta charset=\"utf-8\"\u003e\n\u003ctable class=\"Muze\"\u003e\n\u003ctbody\u003e\n\u003ctr\u003e\n\u003ctd\u003eHardcover\u003c\/td\u003e\n\u003c\/tr\u003e\n\u003ctr\u003e\n\u003ctd class=\"label\"\u003ePhysical Description:\u003c\/td\u003e\n\u003ctd\u003e361 pages ; 8.25 H x 1.25 D x 5.75 W inches 0.96 lbs.\u003c\/td\u003e\n\u003c\/tr\u003e\n\u003c\/tbody\u003e\n\u003c\/table\u003e\n\u003c\/div\u003e", "published_at":"2019-02-09T06:05:57", "created_at":"2019-02-09T06:14:16", "vendor":"Booklandia", "type":"Single Book", "tags":["Young Adult"], "price":1699, "price_min":1699, "price_max":1699, "price_varies":false, "compare_at_price":1799, "compare_at_price_min":1799, "compare_at_price_max":1799, "compare_at_price_varies":false, "all_variant_ids":[13042702516279], "variants":[{"id":13042702516279,"title":"Default Title","option1":"Default Title","option2":null,"option3":null,"sku":"","requires_shipping":true,"taxable":true,"featured_image":null,"available":true,"name":"The Poet X","public_title":null,"options":["Default Title"],"price":1699,"weight":0,"compare_at_price":1799,"inventory_quantity":2,"inventory_management":"shopify","inventory_policy":"continue","barcode":"9780062662804"}], "available":null,"images":["\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/s\/files\/1\/2199\/1091\/products\/Logo-11_65a25f7e-9213-4370-8887-8f7af67b78b8.jpg?v=1549747490"],"featured_image":"\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/s\/files\/1\/2199\/1091\/products\/Logo-11_65a25f7e-9213-4370-8887-8f7af67b78b8.jpg?v=1549747490", "options":["Title"], "url":"\/products\/the-poet-x"}

The Poet X

Product Description

Written by Elizabeth Acevedo

Publisher: Harper Teen

National Book Award and Golden Kite Honor Award Winner!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

 

Hardcover
Physical Description: 361 pages ; 8.25 H x 1.25 D x 5.75 W inches 0.96 lbs.
$16.99 $17.99
Maximum quantity available reached.

Related Products