Thanks for supporting Booklandia during the COVID-19 Pandemic **Shipping is delayed by 7-10 business days

Events

Flying Free Webinar Event Flyer

Booklandia Presents a Discussion with Cecilia Aragon on her new memoir, FLYING FREE (Blackstone Publishing, 2020)

Register HERE>>

 

FLYING FREE chronicles Cecilia's incredible transformation to become the first female Latina champion pilot for the US Aerobatic Team as well as a renowned computer scientist, honored with the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) by President Obama. She went on to become the first Latina professor in the College of Engineering at the University of Washington, and is now the Director of the Human-Centered Data Science Lab at the University of Washington.

 

 

 

 

 

 

___________________________________

Book Event for How To Fold a Taco with Naibe Reynoso 

Book Event 

How to Fold a Taco

Cómo doblar un taco

with Naibe Reynoso

 

 

REGISTER HERE>>

 

Join us for the Book Release of HOW TO FOLD A TACO/CÓMO DOBLAR UN TACO with Naibe Reynoso of Con Todo Press!

*BOOK TALK
*LIVE READING
*GIVEAWAY

Join us for this bilingual book event!

 

 

 

 

 

 

_________________________________________________________________________

 

Past Events:

 

OUR PROUD TRANSNATIONAL HEART: LITERARY DIGNITY IN THE LAND OF THE CRANES

Thursday, September 17th, 4pm PDT/7 PM PDT

Fundraiser for Al Otro Lado $5-$50 

Register HERE>>

An activist book launch (Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar), fundraiser, and plática about migrant stories.

About this Event

Moderator David Bowles (Dignidad Literaria) in discussion with

Aida Salazar, author of (THE LAND OF CRANES)

Ernesto Cisneros (EFRÉN DIVIDED)

Paola Mendoza (SANCTUARY)

Jenny Torres Sanchez (WE ARE NOT FROM HERE)

Francisco X. Stork (ILLEGAL)

 

Co- presented by Booklandia and Presente.org

 

Don’t miss this in-depth discussion by some of kidlit’s most eloquent voices writing about and challenging the current transnational migrant humanitarian crisis. Each of their books, published during the pandemic, and after the exploitative novel, American Dirt, are hard-hitting, own voices narratives told with authenticity, compassion, and a deep understanding of the resistance work their texts provide when they reach and inspire children and young adults.

All donations will go to Al Otro Lado’s Migrant Release Fund. Aida Salazar will personally donate $2 for every one of her book’s sold this evening to Al Otro Lado. Booklandia is also donating $1 from each book sold by any of the authors at this event to Al Otro Lado.

Purchase books HERE>>

 

Booklandia is a Latina-owned online bookstore specializing in helping families build anti-racist and representative home libraries.

Presente.org is the nation’s largest online Latinx organizing group; advancing social justice with technology, media, and culture.

Al Otro Lado’s mission is to provide cross-border legal screening, advocacy, and representation to asylum seekers and deportees in Tijuana, México, detained and non-detained immigrants in Southern California, and immigrant families impacted by policies of family separation. Al Otro Lado works to ensure that anyone, regardless of immigration status, country of residence, race, nationality, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, religious affiliation or lack thereof, will have access to quality immigration advice, while also working to challenge systemic abuses of our clients. At Al Otro Lado we believe it is both our duty to defend the rights of individuals while also working to dismantle the systems that oppress immigrant communities and people in migration.

 

_________________________________________________________________________

Latinx Heritage Month Celebration

Thursday, September 24, 2020

4:30 pm PT / 7:30 pm ET

Virtual Crowdcast Event

 

Join powerhouse Latinx YA authors Ibi Zoboi, Lilliam Rivera, Zoraida Córdova, and Mark Oshiro for a lively conversation moderated by Adriana Herrera in celebration of Latinx Heritage Month and their new books!  

Purchase any of these event books below to receive a ticket to this virtual event.

BOOK DETAILS:

Booklandia is excited to be a bookstore partner for this event.

LATINX BOOKSTORE PARTNERS:

  • Mil Mundos, Brooklyn, NY

  • Third House Books, Gainesville, FL

  • Epilogue Books, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Booklandia, Oakland, CA

  • Kew & Willow Books, Kew Gardens (Queens), NY

  • Palabras Bilingual Bookstore, Phoenix, AZ

 

123 Andres Book Launch

 

Book Launch for HELLO FRIEND/HOLA AMIGO with 123 Andrés.

Register HERE>>

 

 

Booklandia presents the book launch of the Latin Grammy-winning musicians for children and families, 123 Andrés, first bilingual children's book, HELLO FRIEND/HOLA AMIGO, a colorful ode to friendship in both Spanish and English.
It is published by Scholastic with sweet and sunny illustrations by award-winning artist Sara Palacios.

Join us for a musically fun event for the whole family! 

 

 

 

 

Pensamientos Book Launch

 

Book Launch for Pensamientos: un cuento sobre emociones y colores con 

Nathalia Gaviria, Janike Ruginis, y Alexis Ruginis.

Register HERE>>

 

Booklandia presents the book launch of Pensamientos, a book for preschoolers (in Spanish) is about the magical connection between colors, emotions, and our thoughts!

Introducing the topic of emotional awareness, it leverages a play on words (thoughts/pansies) to provide vivid descriptions of seven emotions and their superpowers - crucial for little readers navigating big emotions.

Join us for a reading of the book and talk on emotions for kids.
__________________________________________


Booklandia presenta el lanzamiento de PENSAMIENTOS (Veoleo) escrito por Nathalia Gaviria, Janike Ruginis, y Alexis Ruginis.

Pensamientos es un libro para los niños en edad preescolar, y trata sobre la conexión mágica que existe entre los colores, las emociones, y nuestros pensamientos!

Introduciendo el tema de emociones, usa un juego de palabras para describir siete emociones y sus superpoderes - algo crucial para pequeños lectores navegando grandes emociones.

Te invitamos a una lectura del libro y una charla sobre cómo manejar las emociones con los niños.

_____________________________________________

 Book Launch for The Dream Weaver

 

Book Launch for The Dream Weaver by Reina Luz Alegre

Thursday, June 25th, 2020 at 7 PM EDT on Zoom

Register HERE>>

Booklandia in partnership with The Junior Library Guild presents the Book Launch for Reina Luz Alegre's book, THE DREAM WEAVER (Simon & Schuster for Young Readers.)

Join us in celebrating Reina Luz Alegre's debut middle grade novel. Told with humor and heart, THE DREAM WEAVER is a story about family, friendship and finding where you belong. Twelve-year-old Zoey helps her grandpa save his bowling alley on the beach, while also learning to stand up for her own dreams.

"Alegre has written a warm, funny, empowering book that’s sure to appeal to fans of Meg Medina’s Merci Suarez Changes Gears or Pablo Cartaya’s The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora. Recommended for all collections."
– School Library Journal

"A heartfelt debut novel rooted in the importance of family ties, the bonds of friendship, and bowling."
– Kirkus Reviews

"A charming debut about grief, the bonds of family and friendship, and bowling."
– BOOKLIST

​ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Reina Luz Alegre lives in the Miami area with her family. She’s dreamed of becoming an author since the second grade, and grew up to work on various other professional dreams—including as a freelance journalist and lawyer—before debuting her first novel, The Dream Weaver. When she’s not writing, Reina loves to read, sing, and salivate over baking shows. Reina is represented by Rebecca Podos of Rees Literary Agency.
https://reinaluzalegre.com

 

___________________________________________________________________